The Arcanum #5

The newsletter of fantasy author J.H. Fleming

Hello, everyone! If you're seeing this, it means you signed up for my newsletter at some point in time. Don't worry, I'm not going to flood your inbox. I do like to give you guys regular updates, though. Let's get started!

A fairy tale cottage in Carmel, CA

What Am I Working On?

I’m still editing a book for my partner, Phillip Drayer Duncan. The end finally seems to be in sight, though it’s still slightly off in the distance. My hope is to finish it this month, but that’s been my goal for the past few months, so we’ll see.

I’ve been trying to alternate between my first Mari book and The Myth of Light, which I’m editing, but I’m about to get another book back from my editor, and the thought of juggling all three, plus Phill’s book, is enough to make me feel like I’m drowning. So I’m currently focusing on The Myth of Light, along with editing for Phill. When I get Mistwalker back from the editor, it will take precedence over everything else.

Phill should also finish edits on my first Kelim book soon, so I’ll go back through that as well. And I have one fairy tale witch book needing another editing draft…

What does all of this mean for Mari? Simply that I’m having to put her on hold for the moment. My current goal is to wade through all the books needing their final editing drafts. Once those are all done and no longer demanding attention, I’ll focus completely on Mari.

Tears of the Kingdom

I’ve finally done it. I’ve finally finished Tears of the Kingdom, the latest in The Legend of Zelda franchise.

I’ve been a Zelda fan since I first played Ocarina of Time back in high school. I moved on to Majora’s Mask after that, followed by Wind Waker and Twilight Princess. At this point, I think I’ve played every main Zelda game there is (haven’t done a few of the spinoffs yet, like TriForce Heroes), and I never did finish Zelda II: The Adventure of Link, though I at least made it into the first temple.

My thing with video games is that I’m a completionist. For a first playthrough, I want to do just about everything: all the quests, all the major chests/koroks/etc. to find, and so on. It doesn’t matter how long it takes me; I will do it all.

I’m much more easy-going on a second playthrough (if I ever do a second playthrough), and tend to just focus on the main story, although I typically still do all the quests. Not so much the random things to find, though.

Anyway, point is, I’ve finally finished my first playthrough of Tears of the Kingdom, which was fantastic. A part of me is sad that it’s over, but another part is really glad to be able to play some of the other games waiting for my attention.

Final Huzzah!

It’s the final weekend of the Oklahoma Renaissance Festival! This year has been a ton of fun. I’m kind of sad to see it come to an end, but I’m also looking forward to some free weekends of writing and gaming.

If you can make it out, stop by The Cave to find me, Phill, and Music the Gathering.

Wildwood Minstrels will be at SoonerCon!

We’ve been waiting to officially announce this, but my folk band, Wildwood Minstrels, will be playing at SoonerCon this year!

Phill and I love this convention, and always attend as authors. This will be my first year also attending as a musician, and my bandmate and I are very excited. We hope to see you there!

Future Bestseller Podcast

Future Bestseller Podcast

Some of you may be following my podcast, but if not, consider yourself invited! On Future Bestseller Podcast, we talk about the craft and business of writing and feature various guests.

We’re still on hiatus!

Phill transitioned to being a full-time writer in early April, so his focus has been on finishing his own novel. Once he’s caught up, we’ll decide how we want to move forward with the podcast. Until then, I hope you enjoy listening to our backlog!

Language Corner

I love languages, both learning to speak them and learning how they work. I minored in linguistics in college, and have been studying Irish for about eight years now. While I've also been learning Norwegian and Finnish, I've been focusing more on Irish lately.

Here, I like to share words I've learned in the various languages I'm studying.

Patreon

J.H. Fleming's Patreon

Want more regular updates and sneak peeks at books I'm working on? Consider joining my Patreon! I typically post once a week and share snippets of drafts once a month.

And that's not all!

I also post exclusive short stories and plan to start sharing regular music-related videos. I'll have more news about that once I have the details ironed out. I hope to see you there!

Don’t want to subscribe but still want to support me? Consider donating through Ko-fi! The site offers one-time donations of whatever amount you like.

J.H. Fleming's Ko-fi

Get in Touch

J.H. Fleming

I'm always happy to answer questions about my books, about writing in general, or whatever else strikes your fancy. Send me a message!

Thanks for reading!